About CBE

The Center for Beef Excellence is a non-profit organization and was originally established in 2008 as part of Governor Edward G. Rendell’s Pennsylvania Beef Task Force.


CBE seeks to partner with others in the beef industry to achieve our vision of creating a “vibrant, cohesive Pennsylvania beef industry”.


The mission of CBE is: “To foster collaboration, drive profitability and enhance productivity for Pennsylvania beef


CBE initiatives focus on education, production and management, advisory teams and support to other organizations to strengthen the beef industry across Pennsylvania.

  • Facebook

Board of Directors

The Center for Beef Excellence is run by a volunteer Board of Directors from across Pennsylvania.



President: Justin Clapper, Bedford County

Vice President: Ezra Swope, Bedford County

Secretary: Scotty Miller, Lancaster County

Treasurer: Ned Hower, Northampton County




Dr. Justin Cunfer, Carbon County

Bobbi Dunn, Crawford County

Gavin Howe, Centre County

Scott Rhoads, Somerset County

Adam Zurin, Lancaster County


Ex-Officio Members:


Gene Trowbridge, Susquehanna County

Nichole Hockenberry, PA Beef Council Representative

Ben Williamson, Penn State University

Russell Redding, PA Secretary of Agriculture

Greg Hostetter, PA Deputy Secretary of Agriculture for Animal Health and Food Safety


President Justin Clapper, Treasurer Ned Hower, Bobbi Dunn, Adam Zurin, Administrative Assistant Michelle Kirk, Secretary Scotty Miller, Scott Rhoads, Vice President Ezra Swope, Dr. Justin Cunfer

Missing from photo: Gavin Howe, Nichole Hockenberry, Ben Williamson, Gene Trowbridge